What is a Double Dribble in Basketball? Explain with Details
When you’re watching a basketball game, have you ever seen one of the players do a double dribble? What does that mean? And what happens when someone commits this violation? In this blog post, we’ll answer all those questions and more. So read on to learn everything you need to know about the double dribble in basketball!
In basketball, a double dribble happens when you dribble the ball with both hands at the same time. This is illegal and can result in a turnover. It’s important to be aware of this rule, especially if you’re playing in a game. Otherwise, you may end up committing a costly mistake.
Double Dribble Definition
Double dribble is a violation in the game of basketball. It occurs when a player with the ball takes two steps without dribbling the ball. This can cause an interruption in the flow of the game and can lead to turnovers.
What is a Double Dribble Violation in basketball?
A double dribble violation occurs when a player dribbles the ball with both hands at the same time or when they stop dribbling and then start again. This is considered a turnover and the other team will gain possession of the ball
How to avoid double dribbling in basketball?
The best way to avoid double dribbling is to always keep your dominant hand on top of the ball. This will help you maintain control and avoid using your other hand to dribble. If you find yourself in a situation where you need to use both hands, make sure to only use them alternately.
Why is Double Dribbling illegal in Basketball?
The reason double dribbling is illegal is because it’s a way to waste time and stall the game. If you’re carrying or palming the ball, you’re not moving the game forward. Allowing players to double dribble would just slow down the pace of the game and make it less exciting to watch.
When is It Okay to Dribble Twice in Basketball?
There are a few exceptionsto the rule about double dribbling. If you lose control of the ball and it goes out of bounds, you can pick it up and dribble again. Also, if you tap the ball while you’re in the air, you can catch it and then immediately start dribbling again. These are both situations where it’s okay to dribble twice because play has been interrupted and you need to restart dribbling to keep the game going.
When was the double dribble invented?
The Double dribble invented by Konami.
FAQs:What is a Double Dribble in Basketball?
Q: Can you dribble twice in basketball?
A: No, you cannot dribble twice in succession. This is called a double dribble and is a turnover. The only time you can dribble again is after the ball has touched another player or the referee.
Q: What happens if you double dribble in basketball?
A: A double dribble is when you stop dribbling and then start again. This is a turnover and the other team gets the ball.
Q: Can you carry the ball in basketball?
A: No, you cannot carry the ball in basketball. This is called a carrying violation and results in a turnover.
Q: What is the difference between a double dribble and a carry?
A: A double dribble is when you stop dribbling and then start again. A carry is when you try to move the ball around without bouncing it.
Conclusion:What is a Double Dribble in Basketball?
A double dribble in basketball is when you stop dribbling and then start again. This is a turnover and the other team gets the ball. If you carry the ball in basketball, this is called a carrying violation and results in a turnover. The difference between a double dribble and a carry is that a double dribble is when you stop dribbling and then start again, while a carry is when you try to move the ball around without bouncing it.